you're reading...
Britain, Historypin, Photograph

Quarry Mount FC

Quarry Mount Football Club, 1914

Quarry Mount Football Club, 1914

A wonderful real photo postcard sent by a teacher to his Aunt & Uncle shortly after he began teaching at Quarry Bank School in Leeds. It reads:

“Dear Auntie & Uncle, 

I’m sending you this photo showing the football team at Quarry Mount School where I am now teaching. I have marked an X above me for fear you do not know me. 

With Best Wishes from B & Ma. I remain your loving nephew, 

Joe” 

The card is dated 13/3/14 and was sent from his home at 35 Grimthorpe Terrace in Headingley.

It’s a wonderful shot of the football club, many of the boys are sporting snake buckle belts.

I have placed my Historypin streetview opposite the windows from behind which I believe this photo was taken (the brick detailing is identical to that on the outside of the building).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Calendar of posts

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

